Natasha Breward - Pulse Manager

Natasha runs the day-to-day operations of Pulse, including planning events and programming, maintaining the website and social media and delivering promotional materials. Natasha has a background in university innovation and entrepreneurship, having worked with the University of Saskatchewan's Innovation Enterprise. She has a bachelor's degree in pharmacology (McGill University), and a master's degree in pharmacy (University of Saskatchewan).

Want to collaborate or learn more about Pulse? Email Natasha at:

Murphy headshot2017_CAFTH beige.jpeg

Andrea Murphy - Pulse Academic Committee Member

Dr. Andrea Murphy is an Associate Professor at the College of Pharmacy and is cross appointed with the School of Nursing and the Department of Psychiatry. Dr. Murphy’s research interests include health services and health outcomes, and she works with multidisciplinary teams to explore how medicines, other interventions, and care models impact aspects of health and how evidence about these interventions is translated to stakeholders and subsequently applied in practice.


Daniel Boyd - Pulse Academic Committee Member

Dr. Daniel Boyd is an Associate Professor at the Department of Applied Oral Sciences and the School of Biomedical Engineering. Dr. Boyd’s research interests include the development of therapeutic/regenerative biomaterials for clinical indications in areas of trauma, oncology, neurovascular interventions and hard tissue augmentation and his group works with physicians and other partners to develop innovative implant materials for minimally invasive procedures in a variety of areas of human health. Dr. Boyd is avid in supporting students with an interest in basic science, medical device product development, patient care and inter-disciplinary research.


Gail Eskes - Pulse Academic Committee Member

Dr. Gail Eskes is a clinical neuropsychologist and Professor in the Departments of Psychiatry, and Psychology & Neuroscience at Dalhousie University. Dr. Eskes runs the Cognitive Health and Recovery Research Laboratory, focusing on development of novel technologies for assessment and rehabilitation of cognitive function in normal aging and after stroke and in other forms of brain injury and disease. 


 Jeff Larsen - Pulse Academic Committee Member

Jeff Larsen is the Executive Director of Innovation, Creativity and Entrepreneurship at Dalhousie University, and the Creative Destructive Lab Atlantic Site Lead. Jeff has entrepreneurial and management experience with new businesses in the energy sector, including as a co-founder of Seaforth Energy, Watts Wind, and Katalyst Wind. Jeff holds a Bachelor of Arts from McMaster University, a Juris Doctor from the University of Toronto, and a Master of Laws from Osgoode Hall Law School, York University, and an MBA from Imperial College, University of London.


Roger McLeod - Pulse Academic Committee Member

Dr. Roger McLeod is a Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology and the Associate Dean (Research) in Faculty of Medicine since 2016. Dr. McLeod’s research interests include: cellular and molecular biology of apolipoprotein B in liver lipoprotein assembly; transport of adiponectin in the adipocyte, and he is extensively involved in national peer review for CIHR, NSERC, and the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada.


 Shaun Boe - Pulse Academic Committee Member

Dr. Shaun Boe is the Associate Dean (Research) and Associate Professor at the Faculty of Health. Dr. Boe’s research is focused on understanding the mechanisms underlying brain function and plasticity associated with learning, as well as focusing on learning and recovery in patients post-stroke to understand the mechanisms of recovery and how to improve interventions for neurorehabilitation. Dr. Boe’s research and teaching also focuses on entrepreneurship and commercialization in the area of neurotechnology.

04 DAL-Dentistry-Blk.webp
Image 2020-03-30 at 1_49 PM.webp
04 DAL-Health-Blk.webp